The Festival

mokhtar

Our story

The Mokhtar Awards Festival is an international short films festival that has been taking place since 2013, the year the festival was created.

Born in the worrying context in which huge tensions surround the question of Islam and the Muslim minorities in France and worldwide, the Mokhtar Awards aims to initiate the rise of a cinema form which is reinvented, at the crossroads between political commitment and spirituality. Resolutely inclusive and independent, the Mokhtar Awards focuses on nurturing a new artistic impulse within the marginalised communities, made invisible by the blinding establishment spotlights.

Passionate about cinema, we are convinced that it possesses within itself the seeds of peace and mutual recognition. Our work consists in allowing the expression of new perspectives and new voices originating from within the minorities themselves, of whom the cultural references are too often depreciated. We want to facilitate the development and the exposure of personal stories and of popular (or unknown) narratives, underrepresented in mainstream media and in cinema.

Critical approach

More than everything, the Mokhtar Awards Festival is an open forum of film production and experimentation, at the centre of an ongoing and vibrant discussion around the questions of ethics and aesthetics of the image and of cinema. In other words, cinema in itself is also our battle. We think that art is not only a weapon or a medium: rethinking other, new ways to make films equally represents an end in itself and an important issue. We’re striving to make films differently using other perspectives and through various experiences, exploring thereby traditional creative processes as well as alternative approaches.

For the Mokhtar Awards’ team the Festival’s purpose is to bring about cinematic testaments, short and sensible, articulated from within and from memories, whispered or using a megaphone. It is all about supporting sincere and authentic pieces, created at the first person or collectively, films guided by positive inner work aimed at redefining new lines of meanings. This is nothing less than an attempt to contribute freely and peacefully to another vision of the world, using the poetic approach inherent to cinema, which is in our view able to open new possibilities.

Collective dynamic

The Festival hasn’t for sole purpose the mere screening of films however: the cultural event aspires to bring about openness and interactions, discovery and discussions. We like to generate thought-provoking and necessary confrontations between different perspectives and positions from participants within and outside the film industry.

Through the introduction of comprehensive filmmaking workshops at the Mokhtar Academy all year long besides the annual event, the Mokhtar Awards initiative equally pursues the professionalization of each and everyone, and hopes to inspire, stimulate and identify upcoming talents.

As such our work involves supporting new and experienced filmmakers and to provide the essential tools of knowledge and know-how in order to take ownership of and engage with the art of cinema in all its dimensions. Our goal is to help articulate original stories and celebrate unique point of views from artists often proud to have a spiritual look at the world around us

Pluralistic vision

The Mokhtar Awards Festival has always been boldly diverse and international as much as in its jury membership as well as in its programming: the Mokhtar event is open and accessible to everyone, without condition, and is far removed from an elitist and corporatist conception of the 7th art.

The Festival champions international cinemas: filmmakers from all over the world, famous or not, are constantly highlighted and honored as part of the Festival and in the filmmaking workshops of the Mokhtar Academy. The objective is nothing else than opening doors and building a resistance that is grassroots and more widely collective.

In the context of national and international downturns and ideological entrenchments, our challenge is immense: it entails the re-appropriation of cinema in order to make it an artistic tool for openness, dialogue and in-depth reflections within the Muslim minorities and beyond, and with this to help everyone find (again) his or her place in the wider community and in the Universe.

Les votes sont terminés. Merci de votre participation !

Votes are off. Thank you for your participation!

!التصويت انتهى. شكرًا على مشاركتكم

Le Festival

mokhtar

Historique

Le Festival des Mokhtar est un festival international de courts-métrages qui se déroule à Paris chaque année depuis 2013.

L’événement voit le jour dans un contexte anxiogène qui focalise de vives tensions autour de la question de l’Islam et des minorités musulmanes en France, afin de permettre l’émergence d’un cinéma réinventé, à la croisée de l’engagement et de la spiritualité. Résolument inclusif et indépendant, le Festival des Mokhtar se donne pour mission première de favoriser un nouvel élan artistique au sein des communautés marginalisées et rendues invisibles par les projecteurs aveuglants des pouvoirs.

Passionné.es, nous partageons la conviction que le cinéma possède en lui les germes de la paix et de la reconnaissance mutuelle. Notre objectif est de permettre l’expression de nouvelles perspectives et de nouvelles voix issues de communautés minoritaires dont les référentiels culturels sont trop souvent dépréciés, en facilitant l’articulation et l’exposition d’histoires personnelles ou de récits populaires ou méconnus, sous-représentés dans les grands médias et au cinéma.

Approche critique

Plus que tout, le Festival des Mokhtar est un forum ouvert de création et d’expérimentation cinématographiques, au centre d’une réflexion constante et foisonnante autour des questions éthiques et esthétiques de l’image et du cinéma. Autrement dit, le cinéma en lui-même est aussi notre combat. Nous pensons que l’art n’est pas seulement une arme ou un moyen : repenser d’autres manières de faire le cinéma représente aussi une finalité en soi et un enjeu de taille. Nous cherchons à faire des films autrement à travers d’autres regards et d’autres expériences en explorant les processus de création traditionnels autant qu’alternatifs.

Pour l’équipe des Mokhtar, il s’agit donc de mettre en lumière des témoignages cinématographiques courts et sensibles, formulés du dedans des êtres et de leurs mémoires, à voix basse ou au porte-voix. Il s’agît de soutenir des œuvres justes et sincères créées à la première personne ou collectivement, des films guidés par un travail intérieur et positif redéfinissant les lignes de sens. Il s’agît de contribuer de manière décomplexée et apaisée à une autre vision du monde, dans la démarche poétique propre au cinéma qui est en mesure, selon nous, d’ouvrir le champ des possibles.

Dynamique collective

Le Festival des Mokhtar n’existe pas pour la seule raison de projeter des films cependant : l’événement vise l’ouverture et l’interaction, la découverte et la discussion. Il aime à susciter la réflexion par la confrontation – indispensable — de regards et de parti-pris différents des participants initiés ou non-initiés aux métiers du cinéma.

Aussi, à travers la mise en place de cycles de formations pratiques et théoriques au sein de la Mokhtar Académie ouverte tout au long de l’année en dehors du rendez-vous annuel du Festival, le projet des Mokhtar vise la professionnalisation de toutes et tous, et espère inspirer, stimuler et identifier les talents de demain.

À ce titre, notre travail consiste à accompagner les cinéastes nouveaux ou expérimentés, à fournir des outils de savoir et de savoir-faire nécessaires à l’appropriation des enjeux cinématographiques dans ses différentes dimensions, pour mieux parvenir à célébrer des histoires originales et des points de vue singuliers, souvent fiers de porter un regard spirituel sur le monde qui nous entoure.

Vision plurielle

Le Festival des Mokhtar s’est toujours voulu pluriel et international autant dans la composition de son jury que dans sa programmation : l’évènement des Mokhtar est ouvert et accessible à toutes et à tous, sans condition, à mille lieux d’une conception élitiste et corporatiste du 7ème art.

Le Festival se veut chantre des cinémas mondiaux : réalisatrices et réalisateurs du monde entier, connu.es ou moins connu.es, sont constamment mis en avant et mis à l’honneur tant dans le Festival qu’au sein de nos formations cinématographiques organisées au sein de la Mokhtar Académie. L’objectif n’est rien d’autre que d’ouvrir les portes et de construire une résistance encore plus collective et populaire. Le but ultime est universel : celui de proposer du sens et de rechercher la vérité.

Dans un contexte national et international traversé de replis et de retranchements idéologiques, notre défi est immense : il consiste à se réapproprier le cinéma pour en faire un outil artistique d’ouverture, de dialogues et de réflexions au sein des minorités musulmanes et en dehors, et aider par là-même chacun à (re)trouver sa place dans la société et dans l’Univers.

Les votes sont terminés. Merci de votre participation !

Votes are off. Thank you for your participation!

!التصويت انتهى. شكرًا على مشاركتكم